Roman Septimania

"Septimania" was the Roman name for this region, now known as "The Languedoc" - named after the seven towns that formed the administrive headquarters for their Legions. You can see them on the previouse map. Today there are still seven departments.

View larger photo.

Région: Languedoc-Roussillon
Département: Hérault
Commune: Béziers
Photographer: Malcolm Reynard - personal website
Roman Septimania